President Hilda confirms Cabinet

President Hilda Heine, seated center, is surrounded by her new Cabinet ministers and their wives following a swearing in ceremony January 9 at the International Conference Center. Photo: Wilmer Joel.

The new Cabinet lineup was confirmed Monday.

It features a mix of Nitijela Members, and demonstrates how President Hilda Heine and her core supporters reached out to newly elected Members as well as those from islands that would normally be considered aligned with the Kabua traditional leadership in order to form the new government.

Members of President Heine’s Cabinet who were also in her Cabinet in the 2016-2020 period include new Minister of Finance David Paul, Minister of Foreign Affairs Kalani Kaneko, Minister of Natural Resources and Commerce Tony Muller, and Minister of Public Works Thomas Heine.

The new faces include: Minister in Assistance Bremity Lakjohn, Transportation and Communications Minister Hilton Tonton Kendall, Culture and Internal Affairs Minister Jess Gasper, Jr. and Education Minister Joe Bejang.

Rounding out the Cabinet are Justice Minister Wisely Zackhras and Health Minister Ota Kisino.

They were sworn in during a “soft” swearing in ceremony Tuesday at the ICC, which enables the Cabinet to begin working.

A formal inauguration is scheduled for January 29.